Our Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) 

What is the EYFS? 

This is a period of learning from birth to five and the last year of this stage is Reception. 

Why is it important?

It is called the Foundation Stage because it gives children secure foundations for later learning.  Childhood is important in itself and we want all children to have an enjoyable and satisfying childhood experiences.  Early experiences also affect children’s attitudes to learning.  They create the basis for later learning, in school and beyond. This allows children to develop vital skills through exploration and creative learning opportunities that are child initiated and adult led.

Areas of the Foundation Stage:

 The Foundation Stage curriculum is divided into prime areas of learning and specific areas of learning.

The prime areas begin to develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences, and run through and support learning in all other areas. These are: Personal, Social, Emotional (PSE), Communication and Language and Physical Education.  

The specific areas are: Literacy, Maths, Understanding the World, Expressive Arts and Design. 


Our Principles of EYFS Teaching

We know that great learning happens in EYFS when…

·       Children learn through their own interests and curiosities.

·       Children are provided with a safe and engaging environment that encourages independent learning.

·       Children are motivated and excited by all areas of the EYFS curriculum.

·       Children are confident to express their ideas and are proud of their achievements.

·       Children have access to an appealing outdoor environment where they can extend their knowledge.

In Reception we want to promote life long learning by engaging pupils to participate in fun and creative lessons that allows them to develop vital skills for life beyond the classroom.